Congressional Biomass Caucus

The Congressional Biomass Caucus is a bipartisan caucus of the United States House of Representatives co-chaired by Charles Bass’s Representatives (R-NH-2) and Peter Welch (D-VT). [1] It was officially registered with the Committee on House Administration , the house committee responsible for regulating caucuses, on July 15, 2011. The caucus seeks to support the development of biomass and elevates the renewable resource’s profile in Congress. [2] As of December 2011, the caucus claims 21 members from 15 states:

  1. Charles Bass (R-NH2) Co-Chair
  2. Peter Welch (D-VT) Co-Chair
  3. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA5)
  4. Aaron Schock (R-IL18)
  5. Bill Owens (D-NY23)
  6. Peter DeFazio (D-OR4)
  7. Bill Cassidy (R-LA6)
  8. Russ Carnahan (D-MO3)
  9. Wally Herger (R-CA2)
  10. Mike Michaud (D-ME2)
  11. Greg Walden (R-OR2)
  12. Paul Tonko (D-NY21)
  13. Gregg Harper (R-MS3)
  14. John Barrow (D-GA12)
  15. Richard L. Hanna (R-NY24)
  16. Maurice Hinchey (D-NY22)
  17. Tim Holden (D-PA17)
  18. Jim McGovern (D-MA3)
  19. Hal Rogers (R-KY5)
  20. Kurt Schrader (D-OR5)
  21. Louise M. Slaughter (D-NY28)


  1. Jump up^ “A Caucus of its Own” .
  2. Jump up^ “Biomass Thermal Energy Council Praises Congressional Biomass Training Caucus, Calls for Additional House Members” .